Details

From Nuclear Fission to Electricity

Just imagine: On a bright September morning in 2030, you’re driving your hydrazine-powered car along the US West Coast. Some miles south of San Clemente, you glance leisurely out at the bright turquoise expanse of the Pacific Ocean — a small industrial compound at the beach catches your attention: “Right”, you think, “good old SONGS. It’s great that they decided to shut down the old light-water reactors.” San Onofre Nuclear Power Station doesn’t look much like your grandfather’s nuclear plant. The mighty concrete domes are gone: In their place, there are unobstrusive artificial hills covered with grass — little indication that some tens of meters below ground, machines release fantastic amounts of energy. The turbine halls are smaller than those of an equivalent light-water based plant, and next to the waterfront, a few buildings drink seawater through trunk-like metal tubes: Californian draughts are a footnote in history books since DFR-powered desalination has rolled around.

Nuclear reactors generate heat. For it to perform work which is useful for humanity, it needs to be converted into exergy (directional energy, work): Electricity or chemical energy. This is what a power plant does.

The following illustration shows what a DFR power plant might look like:



A DFR power plant. All nuclear components are installed under ground. Only the turbine hall is visible above ground.

The DFR’s compact size makes it possible to set up all nuclear components under ground, in hardened concrete bunkers. With the exception of complicated burrowing bombs or high explosive bunker busters, no weapon can penetrate the “hot zone”. (Terrorists or criminals are unable to obtain such advanced weapon systems, since their production necessitates a highly developed military industry, and the nations which have such — USA, Russia, China — store them in hardened facilities.)

The white concrete domes of which people usually think when they hear “nuclear power” will thus be a thing of the past in the DFR Age! Their purpose is to contain steam which in the case of reactor vessel rupture will shoot out of the primary circuit. The DFR operates at atmospheric pressure and doesn’t create any steam itself — being a fast reactor, it contains neither water nor any other substances with small atomic weight. The dome becomes superfluous.

As the DFR’s high operating temperature enables efficient energy conversion, most cooling towers can be phased out, too — even smaller rivers or lakes are suitable heat sinks. The only parts of a DFR plant visible at surface level will be the turbine building and the transformer station.

In nations with a built-out power grid, power plants of the gigawatt class are the best solution. Smaller grids (e.g. on islands) may also incorporate Mini-DFRs putting out a few hundreds of megawatts.

The Turbo Generator



Turbogenerator at Balakovo Nuclear Plant
(Source), powered by steam; DFR plants will use supercritical water or carbon dioxide, instead.

Since lead hardly suffers any neutron activation, the primary circuit of the DFR can be extended into the conventional part of the plant. Here, its energy is transferred to the turbine loop in a recuperator. The turbine is driven by a medium of markedly lower heat capacity: supercritical water (scH2O) — a special state of matter in between liquid and gas —, likely the most economical solution. Turbines for supercritical media have more in common with gas turbines than with steam turbines, as there is no phase transition within the loop and a turbocompressor is needed. Modern coal-fired plants already operate at 700 °C using scH2O turbines, temperatures of up to 1000 °C shouldn’t be problematic, either, as the blades are made from very sobust materials which are able to withstand dust, sulfuric acid and steam at 1400 °C. Supercritical carbon dioxide could be another possibility.

Process Heat Applications

If the reactor is to operate partially or fully as a process heat plant, the conventional part must be modified. The lead loop either heats a chemical reactor directly, or it transfers its heat to an additional liquid loop. For mixed use — electricity and process heat —, the latter is extracted first, with the turbine loop operating at a somewhat lower temperature.

The Pyrochemical Processing Unit (PPU)



A rectification column at an oil refinery (Source).
The Pyrochemical Processing Unit is based on the same principle.

“Isn’t PUREX extremely expensive and environmentally unfriendly?”, many ask, when they hear the word “reprocessing”. This is true. Plutonium-Uranium Recovery by Extraction, developed in the course of World War II, is an aqueous chemical process generating lots of toxic waste while being extremely complicated and imprecise. Therefore, a completely different technology was developed for the DFR — or rather: borrowed from other branches of industry and adapted to nuclear use.

Seawater desalination, titanium production, petrochemistry and liquor industry: Separation of substance mixtures using temperature gradients is nothing new. With the PPU, it enters the nuclear industry big style for the first time.

The fuel liquid is evaporated and the steam flows through a column, in which a temperature gradient has been established. Each element or element group rains out at a specific temperature. This enables homogeneous separation of all fission products — depending on the mode of operation, certain substances can be extracted in pure form. Good news for doctors and patients: The radiotracer technetium 99m, which is created from molybdenum 99, can now be produced at every electric power plant in large amounts, with no need for expensive research reactors.

If a DFR/m (metallic fuel) is used, the fuel liquid must first be converted to a chlorine salt before it enters the PPU, as molten metals have too high boiling points. Afterwards, the chlorine is removed again.

The PPU does not only extract the fission products: it is also used to feed in fresh nuclear fuel. If irradiated fuel from light-water reactors is to be used, a reduction step must be added in front of the PPU, removing the oxygene from the uranium oxide.

Find out more about the PPU on our nuclear waste page.

Fission Product Storage



Storage of long-lived fission products below the PPU room. The vitrified material is moved by a robotic arm.

The extremely low material flow through a nuclear reactor (about 1.2 t / gigawatt-year) makes in possible to securely store alle wastes accumulating over its entire lifetime on the plant’s premises. As the PPU extracts all substances in element-pure form, different types of storage depending on half-life are possible.

Long-lived fission products are sealed and transported by a robotic arm into a storage unit below the PPU room, in which they will stay until their radioactivity has declined sufficiently to allow removal and further industrial use. 90% of all fission products can be handled after 100 years, including many noble metals and rare earths. (Thanks to the PPU, they come pre-sorted.) The remaining 10% should remain in storage for about 300 years. Extremely long-lived fission products are transmuted into shorter-lived isotopes in the DFR through neutron irradiation.

The fission product storage is cooled via the chimney effect through natural air circulation.

The shortest-lived fission products can add to energy production, utilizing their decay heat. They are stored in liquid phase in tubes embedded in the lead loop. Their container is connected to tubes which, normally blocked by melt plugs, lead to the storage tanks. These are surrounded by steel ingots (which look somewhat similar to LEGO blocks), buffering decay heat and dissipating it slowly to the surrounding ground.

Other Applications

The fission products’ radiation may trigger chemical reactions: Radiotomic chemistry may find its place in a DFR plant, as well as production facilities for medical technetium generators.

Details

Von der Kernspaltung zum Strom

Stellen Sie sich vor: Sie fahren im Jahr 2030 mit ihrem Hydrazinauto am Rhein entlang. In der Nähe von Köln sehen Sie am Flussufer ein kleines Industriegelände, in etwa von den Ausmaßen eines größeren Einkaufszentrums. „Kernkraftwerk Otto Hahn Nordrhein-Westfalen“ steht auf einem Schild. Doch weder Reaktorkuppeln, noch ragende Kühltürme sind zu sehen. Nur einige künstliche, mit Rasen bewachsene Hügel zeigen an, dass unterirdisch Maschinen verbaut sind, die gewaltige Energiemengen liefern. Ansonsten fällt ein flaches, langgestrecktes Gebäude auf, hinter dem sich ein Umspannwerk befindet, das mit einer Hochspannungstrasse verbunden ist. Eventuell führen auch einige Rohre zu einer Raffinerie oder einem Chemiewerk in der Nähe. „Wie gut“, denken Sie, „dass wir 2022 endgültig aus der Leichtwasserreaktortechnik aus-, und in die effiziente DFR-Technik eingestiegen sind!“

Ein Kernreaktor erzeugt Wärme. Damit diese für Menschen nützliche Arbeit zu leisten vermag, muss sie in Exergie (gerichtete Energie, Arbeit) gewandelt werden: Elektrizität oder chemische Energie. Dies leistet das Kraftwerk.

Wie ein DFR-Kraftwerk aussehen kann, zeigt folgende Grafik:



Das DFR-Kraftwerk. Alle nuklearen Komponenten sind unterirdisch verbunkert. Nur das Turbinenhaus ist äußerlich sichtbar.

Die geringe Größe des DFR erlaubt es, alle nuklearen Komponenten unterirdisch, in gehärteten Betonbunkern unterzubringen. Nur raffinierte Grabsprengköpfe oder hochexplosive bunkerbrechende Waffen könnten die „heiße Zone“ von außen beschädigen. (Terroristen oder Verbrecher sind nicht in der Lage, sich solche Waffen zu verschaffen, da zu ihrer Produktion eine entwickelte Rüstungsindustrie benötigt wird, und die Armeen, die darüber verfügen — USA, Russland, China — verwahren sie in hochsicheren Militärbasen.)

Die weißen Betonkuppeln, die man meist mit der Kernenergie assoziiert, werden daher im Zeitalter des DFR der Vergangenheit angehören! Sie sollen dazu dienen, eventuell aus den Leichtwasserreaktoren mit hohem Druck entweichenden Dampf aufzufangen. Der DFR arbeitet bei Normaldruck und erzeugt selbst keinen Dampf — als schneller Reaktor enthält er weder Wasser noch irgendwelche anderen Stoffe mit geringem Atomgewicht. Die Kuppel wird dadurch überflüssig.

Da die hohe Arbeitstemperatur des DFR effiziente Energiewandlung erlaubt, kann vermehrt auf natürliche Gewässer zur Kühlung zurückgegriffen werden, ohne Kühltürme. Das einzige, was oberirdisch von einem DFR-Kraftwerk zu sehen sein wird, ist das Turbinenhaus und das angeschlossene Umspannwerk.

In Ländern mit ausgebautem Stromnetz sind Kraftwerke mit Leistungen im Gigawattbereich die optimale Lösung. Für kleinere Netze (z. B. auf Inseln) können auch Mini-DFRs mit einigen hundert Megawatt eingesetzt werden.

Der Turbogenerator



Turbosatz des Kernkraftwerks Balakowo (Quelle). Er wird von Wasserdampf angetrieben; das DFR-Kraftwerk wird dagegen mit superkritischem Wasser oder Kohlendioxid arbeiten.

Da Blei unter Neutronenbestrahlung kaum aktiviert wird, kann der Primärkreislauf in den konventionellen Teil hinübergeführt werden. Hier gibt er seine Energie in einem Wärmetauscher an den Turbinenkreislauf ab. Dieser enthält ein Medium mit deutlich geringerer Wärmekapazität: superkritisches Wasser (scH2O) — ein besonderer Materiezustand zwischen Flüssigkeit und Gas, der wahrscheinlich die kostengünstigste Lösung darstellt. Turbinen für superkritische Medien ähneln eher Gasturbinen als Dampfturbinen, da im Kreislauf kein Phasenübergang stattfindet und ein Turbokompressor benötigt wird. Moderne Kohlekraftwerke arbeiten bereits bei 700 °C mit scH2O-Turbinen, Temperaturen bis 1000 °C sollten jedoch kein Problem darstellen, da die Turbinenschaufeln aus sehr robustem Material gefertigt werden, und mit Staub, Schwefelsäure und Wasserdampf bei 1400 °C klarkommen. Auch superkritisches Kohlendioxid wäre als Arbeitsmedium möglich.

Nutzung der Prozesswärme

Falls der Reaktor teilweise oder komplett als Prozesswärmewerk arbeiten soll, muss der konventionelle Teil modifiziert werden. Entweder heizt der Bleikreislauf unmittelbar einen chemischen Reaktor, oder aber er gibt seine Wärme an einen zusätzlichen Flüssigkreislauf ab. Bei gemischter Nutzung — Elektrizität und Prozesswärme — wird letztere vor dem Dampferzeuger entnommen. Der Turbinenkreislauf arbeitet dann bei etwas niedrigerer Temperatur.

Die Pyrochemische Prozesseinheit (PPU)



Eine Rektifikationskolonne in einer Erdölraffinerie (Quelle). Die Pyrochemische Prozesseinheit arbeitet nach dem gleichen Prinzip.

„Ist PUREX denn nicht sehr teuer und umweltschädlich?“, fragen Viele, wenn sie das Wort „Aufarbeitung“ hören. Das stimmt! Bei dem im Zweiten Weltkrieg zur Gewinnung von Waffenplutonium entwickelten, nasschemischen Extraktionsverfahren entsteht viel Giftmüll, und es ist extrem aufwändig und unpräzise. Daher wurde für den DFR ein völlig andere Technologie entwickelt — oder eher: aus anderen Industriezweigen übernommen und modifiziert.

Meerwasserentsalzung, Titangewinnung, Petro- und Getränkeindustrie: flüssige Stoffgemische durch Temperaturunterschiede aufzutrennen, ist ein großtechnisch weit und breit etabliertes Verfahren. Mit der PPU hat es nun seinen großen Auftritt in der Kerntechnik.

Die Brennstoffflüssigkeit wird verdampft und der Dampf durch eine Kolonne geleitet, in welcher ein Temperaturgefälle herrscht. Jedes Element bzw. jede Elementgruppe kondensiert bei einer charakteristischen Temperatur. Dies erlaubt sortenreine Abtrennung aller Spaltprodukte — je nach Betriebsmodus werden bestimmte Stoffe gezielt aus der Brennstoffflüssigkeit extrahiert. Gute Nachrichten für die Medizin: Der Radiotracer Technetium 99m, der aus Molybdän 99 entsteht, kann nun in jedem Stromkraftwerk in großer Menge gewonnen werden, ohne dass man teure Forschungsreaktoren einsetzen muss.

Beim DFR/m wird die Brennstoffflüssigkeit in ein Chlorsalz umgewandelt, bevor sie in die PPU gelangt, da die Metallschmelze zu hochsiedend ist. Hinter der PPU wird das Chlor wieder entfernt.

Die PPU extrahiert nicht nur die Spaltprodukte, sie dient auch zum Nachfüttern von Kernbrennstoffen. Soll bestrahlter Leichtwasserreaktor-Brennstoff genutzt werden, so muss vor die PPU eine Reduktionsstufe geschaltet werden, die dem Uranoxid den Sauerstoff entzieht.

Mehr über die PPU finden Sie in der Sektion „Atommüll“.

Spaltproduktespeicher



Speicher für langlebige Spaltprodukte unterhalb des PPU-Raums. Ein Roboterarm transportiert die versiegelten Stoffe in das Lager.

Der extrem geringe Materiedurchsatz eines Kernreaktors (ca. 1.2 t / Gigawattjahr) ermöglicht es, alle über die gesamte Betriebsdauer anfallenden Abfälle (dies sind beim DFR ausschließlich Spaltprodukte) auf dem Kraftwerksgelände sicher zu lagern. Da die PPU die Stoffe elementrein abtrennt, können sie je nach Halbwertszeit auf geeignete Weise untergebracht werden.

Langlebige Spaltprodukte werden versiegelt und von einem automatischen Manipulatorarm in einen Speicherraum unterhalb der PPU gebracht. Hier verbleiben sie, bis sie, nach Abklingen ihrer Radioaktivität, entnommen und genutzt werden: 90% aller Spaltprodukte können nach 100 Jahren hervorgeholt werden — als Quelle industriell nutzbarer Stoffe, z. B. Edelmetalle und seltene Erden. (Dank PPU liegen sie sortenrein vor!) Die restlichen 10% müssen ca. 300 Jahre gelagert werden. Sehr langlebige Spaltprodukte werden im DFR selbst in kurzlebigere Isotope transmutiert.

Das Spaltproduktelager wird durch natürliche Luftzirkulation mittels Kamineffekt gekühlt.

Die kurzlebigsten Spaltprodukte können mit ihrer Wärmeerzeugung zur Energieproduktion beitragen. Sie werden in flüssigem Zustand innerhalb des Bleikreislaufs gespeichert. Ihr Behälter ist, ebenso wie der Brennstoffkreislauf, über einen Schmelzstopfen mit den Ablasstanks ganz unten im Reaktorbunker verbunden. Die Tanks sind eingebettet in Stahlbarren (die eine gewisse Ähnlichkeit mit LEGO-Bausteinen aufweisen), welche die Restzerfallswärme puffern und langsam in das umgebende Erdreich ableiten.

Weitere Anwendungen

Die Abstrahlung der Spaltprodukte vermag chemische Reaktionen auszulösen: Radiotomische Chemie ist eine weitere Anwendung, die in einem DFR-Kraftwerk ihren Platz finden könnte, ebenso wie Produktionsanlagen für medizinische Technetiumgeneratoren.